Workers’ compensation is one of the more peculiar and most misunderstood areas of law. It is not surprising that many Ohio business owners make the mistake of not staying up to date on legal changes. Recent changes to Ohio state law regarding workers’ compensation are important for any business owner to understand. Read on to learn about the top seven facts that are typically unknown about workers’ compensation law, including the new changes.
Workers’ Comp Policies are Necessary
Some employers don’t realize that they are required to have an active workers’ compensation policy to insure employees who are injured in a workplace accident. When an employee is injured, workers’ compensation provides compensation to replace wages lost during recovery, medical treatment and testing sought as a result of the accident. Workers' comp rules may seem extensive and difficult to understand. Having a workers' compensation attorney who is familiar with the laws and rules to insure injured employees receive what they deserve while still protecting your business.
How to Apply for Coverage
Applying for workers’ compensation coverage may seem daunting, but the Application for Ohio Workers’ Compensation Coverage U-3 is designed to streamline the process. You can fill out the form online or mail it with a $120 deposit.
Benefits Provided by Workers’ Compensation Coverage
Workers’ compensation coverage protects employers and employees. When an employee files a valid work injury claim, the workers’ compensation policy provides wage replacement, permanent impairment, medical bills, and even settlements, taking the direct financial costs off the employer. For this reason, workers’ compensation is not only a legal necessity but provides peace of mind for employers and employees alike.
Some employers don’t realize that even short-term employees must be covered by workers’ compensation policies. Any accident that occurs on the job and meets the other standards of workers’ compensation qualifications must be covered, regardless of the employee’s probationary status or duration of employment with the company.
Coverage Must Come from the State Insurance Fund
Unless an employer has been granted self-insured status, businesses are not permitted to meet their workers’ compensation requirements through private insurance companies in Ohio. All Ohio employers must obtain there workers’ compensation policies from BWC's State Insurance Fund.
Workers' Compensation Rate Cuts
As a result of many factors, including an increased focus on employee safety, BWC announced a cut to certain workers’ compensation policy rates by an average of 6.1 percent. It is estimated that the cuts will save the state employers $11.8 million over the next year.
Refiling and Withdrawal
Until 2006, Ohio employees were allowed to withdraw their workers’ compensation cases and refile at a future date. However, recent changes make it necessary for employees to request permission from their workplace before re-filing a workers’ compensation claim.
Ohio Courts interpret and re-interpret the laws and rules that impact claims all the time. How employers structure their workers comp programs and practices are often impacted by these decisions. It's important to work with a legal team that knows and understands about these changes and how they apply to your business. Contact us at Dawson & Associates, LLC today at 740-368-0200 or fill out the convenient online contact form for more information.